Wednesday night ride

Posted: October 27, 2011 in 2011, Videos

West Stow – ish by slowjo61 at Garmin Connect – Details.

Felt good riding out to meet up with Rich and just got stronger and stronger all the way. Deluded fool, I neglected to take a tail wind and a general downhill road into account!

Pretty standard ride tonight except it is the first one where I have had lights on all the way round. 25 miles at a reasonable pace (14.8mph) which included a lot of waiting or slowing down for Rich who was getting his arse kicked tonight. Talk about stuffing it to your mates, he was having a hard time and when we eventually got to Lackford Lane he was not even in sight when I finished. Our discussion on the way round touched upon the fact that he may have been having mechanical trouble and indeed this turned out to be the problem. His transmission was knackered and was impeding his forward progress. He may have been slow, but think of the training benefit! 🙂

My natural modesty kept me from gloating at my fitness and riding prowess during the ride…lucky that! I did feel on top form but even if my good days coincide with Rich’s bad days, there is no way I can put that much time into him.

Anyway, we had a blast and even managed to avoid tempting ‘river root’….well Rich wanted to go down there but I refused! Dan ‘sack of spuds’ is apparently still sore after his unplanned dismount on Sunday so there was no way I was going to risk it in the dark!

Tune of the ride:

 

 

Leave a Reply

