Tour of the Cornfields

Posted: September 2, 2011 in 2011, General

Well, it is almost upon us. The route has been downloaded and resides in the Garmin. This means I am almost prepared to get lost en route somewhere in deepest, darkest Cambridgeshire on Sunday!

Although a few km short of the promised 100, this ride has been well received by several people I know and I am looking forward to it. For once, I have managed to refrain from excessive miles in the days leading up to an event! Apart from the one ride earlier this week, I have done nothing structured apart from swimming last night. Still desperately slow, I bashed out 1550 metres in 32 minutes. For my ninth swim in over 10 years I suppose it isn’t that bad but at least I have a target now, 62 lengths in <30 minutes.

Swimming has often been suggested to me as a complimentary exercise and while I am willing to give the idea some credence, I get the feeling that my bike fitness is helping my swimming rather than the other way round.

Time will tell but meanwhile this Sunday's ride is paramount in my mind. The trickiest part promises to be the successful navigation of the Duxford Airshow but all I am doing is driving, Richard (M) is navigator and if we get lost I'll blame him! 🙂

Comments
  1. Ross Burton says:

    Good luck!

  2. PeterH says:

    Unlikely when I’m riding my heavy steel hard tail with rohloff and chunky tyres. I’d like to beat last years time although they appear to be riding it the other way around this year and for some reason they’ve cut a couple of off-road bits out, so not exactly comparable. Still – I haven’t ridden those trails much this year so quite looking forward to it. Next year I might invest in a CX bike.

Leave a Reply

