Sunday Ride

Posted: August 1, 2011 in 2011, Rides

No ride file today as we went into areas it is generally agreed that are not best to be posted. Suffice to say we rode for 2 hours and covered 22 miles of pretty much wall to wall singletrack.

I had a really good ride with Dan today. My legs were feeling tired after >208 off road miles in the last eight days and Dan said he was feeling a little bit ‘heavy’. This means I was able to keep with him most of the way without embarrassing myself too much!

We met at BCP and headed out, the day becoming progressively warmer as we rode. In the trees there wasn’t a breath of air and it was deathly quiet, no sign of (animal) life and no litter. We used the little shortcut to miss the detritus left by doggers (not the canine variety) and had a good, fast ride. The Swift continued to impress although Dan’s strength meant that whenever I dropped off the pace a fraction, he was either snapping at my heels or was making up ground which I had to win back. The SD part of the ride over and done with, we headed back to the HL side and did half the short red route to take us home. All I can say is that we need some rain, if only to dampen down the dust a little.

By the end of the ride I was tired, my legs were beginning to reflect the number and intensity of miles ridden in the last week. I need to ease off a little this week and then push on with more effort next week.

Tune of the ride:

Leave a Reply

