Rain!

Posted: June 6, 2011 in 2011, Rides

Rain at last!!! About time says I! It will keep the dust down and maybe the trails will not be as hard as a proverbial ship’s biscuit for a while!

Of course, if the week stays wet, it will mean a return to service as usual for the Mayhem Mudfest in Eastnor this weekend. How much do I hate that event? Let me count the ways! 🙂 If it isn’t mud, it is the never ending climbing (not so much fun for heavier riders) and if those don’t get you, there’s always a good chance your team mate will empty a frying pan of hot fat on your leg!

Don’t get me wrong, it isn’t that I can’t climb, it is just that each lap seems to be 98% up and a tiny fraction down. Not what I’d call fun. Anyway, I haven’t bothered with this event for years now and as it always rains when I get there, it is probably best for all the other competitors that I stay away!

Had I planned better, I would have done Bristol Bikefest this year. It has always been fun and that one big climb aside, rather entertaining! Next year maybe? Well at least once or twice more before I collect my bus pass!

Comments
  1. Moe says:

    Yep, good consistent steady rain since at least the early hours until an hour or so ago here in the forest! Just as well as I was starting to run out of things to say about sand in the trail conditions reports!

  2. Mike m says:

    mayhem is next weekend

  3. slowjo61 says:

    …which gives it a whole week to get properly wet and muddy!

Leave a Reply

