Tentative first steps

Posted: May 9, 2011 in 2011, General

Late yesterday afternoon I decided enough was enough and I headed out on my bike for a short ride along the bridleway, down the green lane to the road and back. It was no more than a couple of miles but there was no coughing during or after so I reckon I can start to get back into the groove.

I took the Swift out and the new, light wheels do seem to make a difference but I think I need a different cassette, the range is too great. I am either bouncing in the saddle or putting in lots of grunt with little appreciable return. I’ll be looking for a 12-28 but, accept that this will leave me light on bigger gears for any road work. I also have one more secret weapon on the way to lighten the rotating mass (wheels) but more about that later.

EDIT: being a tight fisted so and so, I have decided to go for a 36 tooth chainring which should hopefully give me more of a mid range at less cost. The downside however, is that I’ll need a new chain. I snapped it in the winter ad have not bothered to change it since. It is tight already when I engage the easiest few gears; with a bigger chainring it probably wouldn’t let me engage the appropriate sprocket. My attempts to get this bike set up right are proving more and more expensive!

Comments
  1. ady says:

    Good to hear you are back in the saddle, as for the chain i have 2 hg chains ( 9 speed)in the shed that have done less than 3 hrs use as changed for sram ,you can have if you want just mail me your address if you would like them you would need a quick link to join them or the shimano pin

  2. slowjo61 says:

    Thanks Ady

    I’ll PM you on the Timber site 🙂

Leave a Reply

