West Drayton Off road sportive

Posted: April 7, 2011 in 2011, Events

Well, I have entered this again. I am down for the 100km route. To be honest, last year was an absolute nightmare. I was on my Swift and not 100% fit. Some of the downs nearly shook me to pieces and I just couldn’t climb to save my life. This year I’ll be riding the SC and hopefully will not be a burden to anyone I ride with!

I am looking forward to it and as long as I stay well, should be more than adequately prepared this time round. I hope it stays dry as some of the sections looked as if they’d turn into a quagmire if wet.

Anyway, it is on the calendar now, something to aim for. 🙂

That’s a thought, I can even take a film of it this year.

Comments
  1. Ross Burton says:

    I was tempted but there appears to be a lot of road and a lot of lycra, both of which put me off. 🙂

    Only the 100km? Looks like the real men are doing the 130km… 😉

  2. Ross Burton says:

    Oh and they don’t do a <80km route any more, I doubt I can manage that!

  3. PeterH says:

    Yeah – I thought there was a lot of road as well when I looked at the route last year.

    I’ve only done a few Sportives but the “not a race” thing seems to get forgotten about rather quickly – I seem to remember it’s one of the unwritten rules – if someone says it’s “not a race”, it’s a race. And if it’s a “not a race” race you have to wear lycra ‘cos it’s faster ‘init.

  4. slowjo61 says:

    We treated it as a race right up until the time we decided we couldn’t be bothered to start with the main crowd and waited 15 minutes until after they left, and then until we decided to stop for lunch on a nice, grassy village green and later for some cake, then a bit later for more cake and sandwiches.

    There is a fair amount of road but no more than the Essex Sportive we did last year. The biggest hazards are yummy mummies in big 4x4s off to take Clarissa to riding school don’t you know? The good bits….. cake at the food stops, more cake than you can shake a stick at and then some.

    There wasn’t a lot of lycra as far as i can remember, more baggy shorts and baggy shirts. The fast guys were gone in a flash so you wouldn’t have seen them anyway.

    You lot need to spend more time riding with Mr Muchmore, he’ll teach you how to be relaxed (though he does go exceedingly fast as well – when he wants to!). ;o)

    • PeterH says:

      Er, Mr keeps lapping me Muchmore? I agree that he looks relaxed when he overtakes me – but I don’t think I’d last very long riding with him. Far too fast for me.

  5. slowjo61 says:

    I can’t stay with him that long either if it is any consolation. Last year I made it to 30 miles but only because he was waiting for me!

  6. Ady says:

    John
    When is this event and where is it based as might be intrested in riding it as im more a cake and ride type of rider now.
    And glad to see richard is still riding the legs of people

  7. slowjo61 says:

    http://www.bucksoffroadsportive.co.uk/ May15th

    Follow the link to the online entry, the BC option is pants.

  8. Mike m says:

    better check out the calender sounds ilke a good little blast

Leave a Reply

