Tyre setup – prepare for a surprise!

Posted: March 18, 2011 in 2011, Technical Section
Tags: , , ,

Thanks to Jamie from Revel Outdoors I offer you an interesting piece of research. Jamie shared this information on another posting and having studied it carefully, I though it needed a more obvious airing. I must confess I was surprised and will be amending my tyre setup to see how it pans out. whatever your preconceptions, this is a worthwhile read and may be the fastest five minutes you have ever spent.

Comments
  1. Peterh says:

    Interesting. So in summary, off-road you want fat tyres inflated as low as possible. And Racing Ralphs are worth the money 🙂 Out of interest – what’s the recommended lowest inflation pressure marked on a Racing Ralph side wall – I bet it’s more than 21psi they suggest in that paper.

  2. slowjo61 says:

    As I have a nice new RR on the floor beside me (£23 delivered from On One) I have checked. It says 30psi but i guess that must assume they are being used with tubes. Pressures tubeless are much lower – 35 psi tubeless feels like 50psi with a tube (to me anyway).

  3. slowjo61 says:

    A few rides on my tubeless setup and I find I am more comfortable on the firmer edge of the range. The rims say max inflation is 45psi, I now have mine set at 40psi – which is very low for me. I have had no issues with grip on the bends so the tyres seem to be doing their job ok. Am I faster with them inflated to 35psi? Frankly I have no idea!

Leave a Reply

