Tuesday Night Ride

Posted: March 16, 2011 in 2011, Rides
Tags:

Only three of us turned up to play, myself, Rich and MM. I was a bit naughty and pulled Jake the Snake out of the shed. I zoomed down towards Fornham to meet the guys and then we embarked on a round Bury ride. In theory it was an on and off road ride, in practice it was more of a road rise with short off road sections to link it up. For Suffolk, the profile was hilly and we did a lot of climbing. The good thing, as far as I was concerned, is that on this sort of ride a CX bike makes life easier when on the road, the bad thing is that I automatically became the pace maker. I was on the front, pushing the pace for maybe 90% of the ride.

I really like JTS, it is an awesome bike, always ready to go, a bit like an eager puppy. Strangely, the best aspect is climbing. It seems to climb like no other road bike I have ever had and, as my fitness returns and legs become stronger, it just becomes more and more fun. One niggle is the gears are all over the place again, shifting up and down almost at will – I’ll have to see to them sooner rather than later.

Total ride distance was 26.93 miles and we were riding for about one hour forty minutes  averaging 16mph. The Garmin site is down at the minute so I can’t provide a link to the file, I’ll do it as soon as I can.

Tune of the ride:

Ride file

Round Bury Night Ride by slowjo61 at Garmin Connect – Details.

Leave a Reply

