Hope Pro 2 – Crest Rims

Posted: March 14, 2011 in 2011, Product Reviews
Tags: , , , ,

Hope Hoops Pro 2 Rear Wheel Crest

Description : .Following on from the success of the Pro2 hub, this now proven award winning wheelset continues to receive accolades and awards.
With the Pro 2 hub being so versatile, we now offer rims from DT Swiss, Mavic and No Tubes to create a complete range of wheels suitable for all uses – on just one hub.
For the XC crowd, the ever popular DT XR400 is now joined by the Mavic XC717 & No Tubes Crest. This means that tubeless is now a real option and there is a rim to suit every XC need.
For the more aggressive rider, or those riding bigger bikes & terrain – we have added to the DT Swiss EX500 with the Mavic D521 and No Tubes Flow rims. Again, this gives the option of a tubeless setup and a choice of dedicated freeride rims.
We finish the Pro 2 range with a classic – the Mavic EX721. No other options here – why would you need them? This combination builds into a bombproof, thrashable & reliable wheelset that fits just about any frame and fork axle type (this is also avaialble in a 150mm width). Like we said – a classic.
Wheels are available individually or as a pair and come complete with custom ‘Hoops’ etching on the hub, rim tapes (except No Tubes), spare spokes, nipples and rim stickers.
The 3 XC rims (400, 717 & 355) all come as QR wheels with the fronts having a 15mm conversion in the box (20mm available aftermarket) and the remaining rims come as QR, but this time with a 20mm conversion in the box (15mm available aftermarket). Wheels are packaged in purpose made wheel boxes to avoid damage in transportation.

Specification & Features of Hope Hoops Pro 2 Rear Wheel Crest

  • SPEC:
  • CNC machined in Barnoldswick, England
  • Built and hand finished in Barnoldswick, England
  • Bearing type: Cartridge (61903, 61802,
    61804,61902)
  • Hub Body: 2014 T6 aluminium
  • Colours: Black
  • Hole Drilling: 32
  • Cassette body: Aluminium
  • Ratchet type: 4 pawl (24t engagement)
  • Spokes: DT Swiss Competition,
  • 2mm Brass Nipples

Hope Hoops Pro 2 Rear Wheel Crest is perfect for:

  • Great Hub Versatility
  • Lightweight rapid response performance
  • Enough strength to tackle the trail head on without any problems

So much for the official blurb. I bought my rear wheel on Friday following the demise of my Mavic 317/DT 240 combo. I needed a new wheel fast as I had no other bikes to ride off road (apart form the crosser) this weekend. My previous wheels were light and I loved them to death but I couldn’t go tubeless with them. Now, I am far from an early adopter to this technology but I know there are plenty of people out there, like me, who cling to the old tyre and tube setup.

Having been talked into tubeless I honestly approached it with a certain amount, no… a lot of scepticism. I know reduction of rotating mass makes a huge difference but I had a light wheelset anyway and I couldn’t see how tubeless could make much difference.

Unable to get the tyre to seat properly, I needed help form Mike (Revel Outdoors) to set it up. Using a compressor and a fair amount of know how, he quickly got the tyre seated, filled it up with gunk and told me that I needed to ride next day to get the inside of the tyre well coated. He then explained, to my alarm, that I couldn’t run the tyre with more than 45psi. Now, as I normally run 45psi as my softest setting – default is usually 50+- this was something of a departure for me. It was patiently explained that I really wouldn’t need that much and I was invited to trust him!

As it happened, I couldn’t get out on Saturday (too many jobs around the house) so I didn’t see the bike again until Sunday morning. A quick pressure check and the bike was in the back of the car. At BCP, I arrived somewhat earlier than anticipated so did a quick ‘car park test’ i.e. I had a ride round and round in circles and to be honest, felt no difference at all. So… my scepticism was to be rewarded after all!

Dan and Rich duly showed up and we headed off to the trails. The difference was immediately noticeable, it took me considerably less time and effort to get up to speed, at least on the fire road. So far so good; the gentle downhill to the red route at Thetford passed quickly enough but the real test came later as we headed for the ‘Gay Trail” – don’t ask why it is called that, it is really quite unsavoury. This trail kills me on my 29er and isn’t much better on the Superlight. It is 8 miles of stop, roll, accelerate, stop, roll, accelerate and it is a tough, tough ride if you push hard enough. As a larger rider (not that large but significantly heavier than the other two), I suffer on this type of trail. Open, fast flowing singletrack is my scene, where I can make use of constant power and momentum without getting worn to a frazzle. Anyway, I was able to get up to speed much more quickly and with less effort than normal which was a bit of a revelation. I did encounter problems though, I am pretty much hardwired to generate as much power as I can to get through this sort of environment and took some time to get used to the extra momentum. Heading into corners and berms I was carrying too much speed and was constantly using my brakes to scrub it off; it wasn’t until later in the ride that I was able to recalibrate my power output and reactions to get the trails dialled. When we headed home, there is a long shallow climb where the whippets usually drop me and, drop me they did once again but not by so much as usual.

It was interesting to feel such a difference with just one new wheel. I already have Crest rims on order for my 29er in the hope that it will liven it up. I can see that it won’t be too long until the rear wheel on my Superlight is joined by a new front wheel.

This may be old hat to many people out there but, if you are a traditionalist, late adopter like me, al I can say is that if this is the difference one tubeless wheel on a bike can make, I thoroughly recommend the tubeless route. If nothing else, give it a try.

 

EDIT:

I now have a complete pair of these wheels, running tubeless. Initial reactions were that the front wheel was a little sluggish but it seems to be easing up with every ride which is good news.

The addition of the front wheel (replacing an old Mavic 317 in case there are any smart alecs out there) doesn’t seem to have made any obvious difference to speed or handling but there is a subtle change. Acceleration is that little bit easier, I find that I can get up to speed that little bit quicker and while this may not seem that important over a short ride, once you add all the little improvements together over a few hours, you really begin to feel the difference. Oh yes, and in case anyone wonders, these ‘super wheels’ still haven’t turned me into s Marco Pantani, my climbing still sucks!

The biggest difference is on fire road; on training rides with the pace staying high and with lots of little pace variations along the way, these wheels have made a massive difference. Whereas once I would have to summon up a lot of effort to get back on/keep someone’s wheel, all it seems to take now is a little squeeze and the bike eases forward to make up the gaps. Oh yes, and while I said I can’t climb for toffee, I forgot those short, sharp, high speed climbs – well these are despatched with ease. I just can’t compete with people who are maybe 5 stone lighter than me when the trail tips upwards.

Has the tubeless conversion made any difference to me? Quite unequivocally…. yes.

Comments
  1. 45-50 psi is way too hard. Low pressure, wide tyres give you speed. Here’s the evidence: http://www.bernhansen.com/Tester/Dekktrykk,%20bredde%20og%20knastens%20innvirkning%20-%20schwalbe.pdf

  2. slowjo61 says:

    I agree now, I am a total convert to tubeless and lower pressures. The thing is, on the traditional setup I had to have a lot of pressure or else I would blow through the tyres and hit the rim too often, resulting in pinch flats. It wasn’t that I couldn’t unweight the wheels and pop over obstacles, it was the stuff I couldn’t see that did for me, especially riding at night.

    My tubeless wheel is running at 35psi and it is the same, if not better, than the higher pressure setup I was using before.

    Nice piece of research BTW.

  3. slowjo61 says:

    These wheels have now gone having been sold. They had one fundamental flaw – they were only 26 inches! I have moved to 29ers now, Crest Tubeless once again.

Leave a Reply

