Tacx Extreme MTB – a new course

Posted: March 2, 2011 in 2011, Turbo

Last night I had a bash at one of the custom courses on the Extreme MTB disk.

What is it about this disk that someone thinks mountain bikers want to start a ride riding up the longest, steepest hills possible? Yes, another climb, apart from a couple of sections where it tipped down for a minute, it was about half an hour going up. It was nothing too tough, just a steady slog up a series of never ending switch backs. When I finally hit the top there was a lovely long downhill punctuated by a horrible, short and sharp climb in the middle. Never mind, it was straight into a lovely downhill that just kept on going. The trouble was, I could see the route profile on the screen in front of me and I couldn’t help but notice the nasty kick at the end.

I had ridden within myself all the way (my standard practice on a new course – you never know what is round the corner) and felt I was well prepared for the final ascent. Steady at  the bottom, I had selected my gear to ride to the top with, not too big and not too spinny. Hmm, this climb just got worse as the gradient increased and it just seemed to go on and on, up and up with no relief. By now I was watching the distance left clocking down slowly…. too slowly. The last mile and I was is sight of the summit but it kicked again and 0.4 out from the finish and I broke, selecting an easier gear for the ride to the finish. A minute or so later and I popped out onto the road and saw the finishing kite so I made an extra effort and went for it only to be sent out on the MX course I had ridden a day or so ago. The finishing straight was however, up the steepest part of that course and I was so glad when it was all over.

It had taken me about 52 minutes and I was pooped, well and truly. Wobbly legs but a feeling of satisfaction.

Leave a Reply

